Student Achievement and Well-Being

This page lists the Student Achievement and Well-Being team responsibilities and  the family of school areas by superintendent. A list of schools alphabetically with their family of school area and superintendent is available for reference.

Coordinating Superintendents

Lila Read

lila_read@wrdsb.ca

Administrative Support: Lori Willsteed
Email: lori_willsteed@wrdsb.ca
Phone: 519-570-0003 ext. 4456

Responsibilities

  • Board and School Improvement Planning, Implementation and Monitoring – Oversight
  • Board Governance Strategy and Support
  • Information Technology – Oversight
  • Research & Evidence-Based Practice – Oversight
  • Strategic Planning, Implementation & Monitoring
  • Waterloo Region Elementary Administrators
  • Elementary Administrator Placement & Transfers

scott_lomax_2015_150x210

Scott Lomax

scott_lomax@wrdsb.ca

Administrative Support: Karen Leishman
Email: karen_leishman@wrdsb.ca
Phone: 519-570-0003 ext. 4219

 

Responsibilities

  • Annual System Start-Up and Corporate Data Collection
  • Board Governance Strategy and Support
  • Chair – Student Achievement & Well-Being Team
  • Learning Services Oversight – Program & Special Education K – 12
  • Secondary School Principals Association and Secondary School Vice Principals Association
  • Severe/Inclement Weather
  • Secondary Administrator Placement & Transfers

return to top of page

Superintendents and Family of Schools

Ron DeBoer

Area 1 – Ron DeBoer

ron_deboer@wrdsb.ca
Phone: 519-570-0003 ext. 4451

Administrative Support: Lorraine Longpre
Email: lorraine_longpre@wrdsb.ca
Phone: 519-570-0003 ext. 4451

Responsibilities

  • Program 9 – 12
  • Continuing Education
  • Student Success Lead
Secondary Schools Elementary Schools

return to top of page

Area 2 – Evelyn Giannopoulos

evelyn_giannopoulos@wrdsb.ca
Phone: 519-570-0003 ext. 4208

Administrative Support: Julianne Amaral
Email: julianne_amaral@wrdsb.ca
Phone: 519-570-0003 ext. 4208

 

Responsibilities

  • Professional Activity Days
  • School Year Calendar
  • Severe/Inclement Weather (as of September 2017)
Secondary Schools Elementary Schools

return to top of page

Angela Mercier

Area 3 – Angela Mercier

angela_mercier@wrdsb.ca
Phone: 519-570-0003 ext. 4215

Administrative Support: Lisa Cook
Email: lisa_cook@wrdsb.ca
Phone: 519-570-0003 ext. 4215

Responsibilities

  • School Improvement Planning
Secondary Schools Elementary Schools

return to top of page

Scott Miller

Area 4 – Scott Miller

scott_r_miller@wrdsb.ca
Phone: 519-570-0003 ext. 4451

Administrative Support: Lorraine Longpre
Email: lorraine_longpre@wrdsb.ca
Phone: 519-570-0003 ext. 4451

 

Responsibilities

  • Family and Children Services
  • Special Education
  • Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities (AODA)
Secondary Schools Elementary Schools

return to top of page

Elaine Ranney

Area 5 – Elaine Ranney

elaine_ranney@wrdsb.ca
Phone: 519-570-0003 ext. 4215

Administrative Support: Lisa Cook
Email: lisa_cook@wrdsb.ca
Phone: 519-570-0003 ext. 4215

 

Responsibilities

  • Early Learning / Extended Day
  • Program JK – 8
Secondary Schools Elementary Schools

return to top of page

Peter Rubenschuh

Area 6 – H. Peter Rubenschuh

peter_rubenschuh@wrdsb.ca
Phone: 519-570-0003 ext. 4235

Administrative Support: Leonilda (Nilda) Gil
Email: leonilda_gil@wrdsb.ca
Phone: 519-570-0003 ext. 4235

 

Responsibilities

  • Alternative Programs/Choices/Section 23 Programs
  • Safe, Caring and Inclusive Schools:
    • Healthy Schools
    • Mental Health
    • Equity and Inclusion
    • First Nations, Métis, and Inuit (FNMI)
    • Safe Schools and Suspensions / Expulsions
    • Threat Risk Assessment
    • Traumatic Event Response
Secondary Schools Elementary Schools

return to top of page

Area 7 – Bill Lemon

bill_lemon@wrdsb.ca
Phone: 519-570-0003 ext. 4208

Administrative Support: Julianne Amaral
Email: julianne_amaral@wrdsb.ca
Phone: 519-570-0003 ext. 4208

Responsibilities

  • Arts/French Immersion/International Baccalaureate/Fast Forward
  • English Language Learners (ESL/ELD)
  • Home Instruction/Independent Learning Centre (ILC)/Home Schooling
  • Outdoor Education
  • Waterloo County Secondary School Athletic Association (WCSSAA)
  • Waterloo Region Senior School Physical and Health Education Association (WRSSPHEA)
Secondary Schools Elementary Schools

return to top of page

Graham Shantz

Area 8 – Graham Shantz

graham_shantz@wrdsb.ca
Phone: 519-570-0003 ext. 4438

Administrative Support: Mary Hingley
Email: mary_hingley@wrdsb.ca
Phone: 519-570-0003 ext. 4438

Responsibilities

  • Governance of Information Technology & Systems
  • Digital Citizenship
  • Digital Education Strategy
Secondary Schools Elementary Schools

return to top of page