At our May 28 Board Meeting, ten high school students were awarded the 2017-18 Linda Fabi Bursary.

Each year, Linda Fabi, our former director of education, hands out the award to its recipients and shares a little bit about their post-secondary journey with our trustees and senior team.

The bursary provides funding for students who are planning to pursue a trade through college or apprenticeship. Students are nominated for the bursary by a teacher and the following characteristics are taken into consideration:

  1. The student’s key characteristics
  2. An example of how the student has demonstrated perseverance, or has overcome obstacles or made a remarkable comeback during their high school career
  3. A staff member’s recommendation

An adjudication committee consisting of Chairperson Scott McMillan, Vice-Chair Ted Martin, Past Chair Kathleen Woodcock, and former director of education Linda Fabi selected the ten students to receive the monetary award.

We’d like to take a moment to congratulate this year’s recipients: Adam Furlotte and Owen Ross of Waterloo-Oxford Secondary School (WODSS), Pauline Ditner of Elmira District Secondary School (EDSS), Matthaeus Duldhardt of Waterloo Collegiate Institute (WCI), Arneze Willis of Cameron Heights Collegiate Institute (CHCI), Luke Wolf of Grand River Collegiate Institute (GRCI), Megan Liddell of Preston High School (PHS), Tiana Jolaoso of Forest Heights Collegiate Institute (FHCI), Cheyenne Budimlic of Southwood Secondary School (SSS), and Kade Chapman of Eastwood Collegiate Institute (ECI).

About the Award

The Linda Fabi Bursary was established by the Board of Trustees in celebration and recognition of the many contributions and achievements of Linda Fabi during her tenure as Director of Education for the Waterloo Region District School Board. The total amount of the Bursary is up to $2,000, which is to be presented annually to students of the Waterloo Region District School Board. Depending on the number of applicants, this award can be divided so that a number of eligible applicants can be recognized.

Recipients of the 2017-18 Linda Fabi Bursary pose with Vice-Chair Ted Martin, Past Chair Kathleen Woodcock and former director of education Linda Fabi.

Tags: · · · · · · · · · ·