The Ontario Public School Boards’ Association (OPSBA) and the Public Board Council of OSTA-AECO have announced Kenzy Soror and Vaishnave Raina, student trustees of WRDSB, as the recipients of this year’s Ontario Public Student Trustee Leadership Scholarship.

Kenzy and Vaishnave are recognized for their instrumental contributions to creating a new student trustee election process. The voting process, which was implemented in the February 2023 student trustee election, ensured accessibility, transparency, equity, and inclusivity for all WRDSB students.

In addition to revamping the election process, the trustees have made significant strides in their roles, representing their peers’ interests and advocating for positive change within the school community.

Kenzy played a crucial role in developing processes to collect more inclusive student feedback. Vaishnave contributes to the WRDSB’s Student Mental Wellness Conference, Asian Heritage Day, and student roundtables.

Both Kenzy and Vaishnave have been excellent representatives and advocates for students over the past year. Their contributions to the Board and school community will continue to positively impact present and future WRDSB students for years to come.