Ten Grade 12 students from across Waterloo Region District School Board (WRDSB) received the 2022-23 Past-Directors’ Bursary during the WRDSB Board of Trustees meeting on May 29. The selected students received a $200 bursary, which will support them in pursuing trades through college or apprenticeship.

Chairperson Joanne Weston expressed her pride in the students who received the 2022-23 Past-Directors’ Bursary. “We are thrilled to offer this bursary to deserving students who have exhibited tremendous potential in pursuing a trade career. By investing in their education, we hope to enable their success and contribute to the growth of skilled trades in our community.”

The WRDSB would like to congratulate the students who were selected for the bursary:

  • Allan Moua, Grand River Collegiate Institute
  • Chaz Halliwell, Jacob Hespeler Secondary School
  • Cisco Feijao, Galt Collegiate Institute
  • Demonica French, Grand River Collegiate Institute
  • Houston Kaufman, Kitchener-Waterloo Collegiate Institute
  • Jarod Forrest, Forest Heights Collegiate Institute
  • John Van Wijngaarden, Glenview Park Secondary School
  • Maverick Horst, Elmira District Secondary School
  • Nathan Paul. Eastwood Collegiate Institute
  • Tucker Armstrong. Elmira District Secondary School

The WRDSB Board of Trustees established the Past-Directors’ Bursary to commemorate the accomplishments and contributions of Linda Fabi, a former Director of Education. In 2022, the Board renamed the award to honour all past Directors, including Linda Fabi and John Bryant.

The bursary is a testament to the WRDSB’s dedication to fostering excellence and supporting the region’s next generation of skilled tradespeople.

Learn more about the Past-Directors’ Bursary and other WRDSB scholarships.