

Waterloo Region District School Board

51 Ardelt Avenue Kitchener, ON N2C 2R5 T: 519-570-0003 F: 519-742-1364 wrdsb.ca

March 14, 2022

Dr. Kieran Moore Chief Medical Officer of Health Ministry of Health 777 Bay Street, Fifth Floor Toronto, ON M5G 2C8

The Honourable Stephen Lecce, Minister of Education Ministry of Education 315 Front Street West, 14th Floor Toronto, ON M7A 0B8

Dear Dr. Moore and Minister Lecce:

At a Special Meeting held March 11, the Board of Trustees for the Waterloo Region District School Board (WRDSB), acting upon your Ministry Directive of March 9 and its own legal advice, voted to rescind our Trustee Motion to Require Masks, previously adopted at a meeting held on August 17, 2020.

At the same meeting, Trustees adopted a separate motion to ask me to write to both of you to request two more weeks following March Break to pivot to the end of mandatory masking in schools (such that masking requirements would be lifted on April 4 rather than March 21). If adopted, this additional two weeks of transition time would also allow more time to increase vaccination rates for children aged 5 to 11.

Dr. Moore, the WRDSB Board of Trustees is also requesting that you provide additional direction regarding the need for masking to protect students and staff who are immunocompromised or who have complex medical needs, including children in congregate settings and students who are under age 5 who are unable to be vaccinated.

We ask for your urgent consideration of these requests and a response no later than March 16, 2022.







Waterloo Region District School Board

51 Ardelt Avenue Kitchener, ON N2C 2R5 T: 519-570-0003 F: 519-742-1364 wrdsb.ca

Granting these requests will provide an additional level of safety, and protect the health of students, staff and their families in WRDSB schools and throughout Ontario.

Sincerely,

Scott Piatkowski

Chairperson of the Board of Trustees Waterloo Region District School Board

CC:

Ontario Public School Boards' Association Chairs, Ontario Public School Boards MPP Amy Fee MPP Catherine Fife MPP Michael Harris MPP Belinda Karahalios MPP Laura Mae Lindo

